top of page
Search
  • harryhowson2002

Learning to mod Minecraft Bedrock Edition on Console Platforms

Whilst this has been unfortunately patched out of the Xbox platform, for an extended period of time it was possible to develop your own "Behaviour Packs" and get them to run on an Xbox console and invite friends to check them out. I used this brief time to use the "bridge." software developed by the community to develop my own simple mod and get more familiar with how the game works.


This mod added a new alloy material, and made more materials craftable into weapons, and power apples reminiscent of the vanilla Golden Apple. Each apple would grant boost effects related to the material they're made from, i.e: Diamond Apples grant a large health cap boost, whereas Iron Apples grant damage resistance.

I also created a few custom items such as the "Ender Nexus", which fires ender pearls at the cost of its durability, or the "RPG" which fires supercharged wither skulls from the vanilla game. Before this was patched, I integrated this pack onto a roleplaying world where everything was essentially creative mode, but still limited by survival mode, i.e: Lots of resources are available. For this, I also added the "Apple Wand" to give the player a way to duplicate hundreds of apples for the cost of one apple and a stick. This allowed me to playtest my mod and make appropriate adjustments to items which were too overpowered or not useful at all. Whilst my mod is now redundant, I enjoyed working on it and it has taught me about game development in a different platform to the Unreal Engine 4 platform I am familiar with.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moving Forwards

After this module has concluded, I hope to use the experience I have gained to work towards employment. I also plan to further my...

Working as part of a Team

Earlier this year I contributed as part of a team towards a game concept titled "Apocrypha" as the team's Unreal scripter. During the...

Commenti


bottom of page